أضواء كاشفة للمتطوعين: أوليفيا تران

أوليفيا تران متطوعة في فئة ESL للسيدات. بدأت العمل التطوعي في بداية عام 2020 ؛ شخصيًا وعبر الإنترنت. أوليفيا اليوم في دائرة الضوء.

تخرجت أوليفيا تران مؤخرًا من كلية ويليام وماري ، دفعة 2021 ، بدرجة البكالوريوس في علم الأعصاب. تقول: "الهدف طويل الأمد هو الذهاب إلى كلية الطب ؛ يصبح طبيبا. أعلم أن التدريس ودروس اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة ثانية لا يرتبطان بالضرورة مباشرة بالطب ، ولكن من المهم جدًا بالنسبة لي أن أتعرف على جميع الأنواع المختلفة من السكان ، وجميع الأنواع المختلفة من الأشخاص المتنوعين. من الجيد أن تمارس عقلًا متفتحًا ، لأنك تعلم عندما تكون طبيباً ترى جميع المرضى المختلفين من جميع الأنواع المختلفة من الخلفيات الشخصية والثقافات والمجتمعات والأديان وهذه الأشياء قد تؤثر أو لا تؤثر على قراراتهم الطبية ، لذا فهي صفقة كبيرة لإبقاء ذهني منفتحًا قدر الإمكان ".

"لذلك ، أعتقد أن HR3 قد أعدتني جيدًا لعملي القادم في معمل القراءة والكتابة. لقد تعلمت الكثير للتو عن مهارات التدريس والاستراتيجيات ، والكثير من الأشياء التي تعلمتها خلال وقتي كانت مخصصة لمختبر تعلم القراءة والكتابة ESL. سيكون متشابهًا بعض الشيء حيث سأقوم بفهم القراءة ومهارات الكتابة للأطفال الصغار جدًا. اللغة الإنجليزية ليست لغتهم الثانية في حد ذاتها ، لكنها متشابهة نوعًا ما. يعد تعزيز مهاراتهم في اللغة الإنجليزية أمرًا مهمًا للدخول إلى العالم الحقيقي.

لا أعتقد أنني كنت سأرى نفسي مناسبًا جيدًا لمختبر محو الأمية إذا لم أبدأ التطوع مع HR3 لأنني كما قلت سابقًا لم يكن لدي أي خبرة في التدريس. قبل ذلك لم أكن أعتبر نفسي مدرسًا رائعًا حقًا ، لكنني قمت ببناء مهارات لم أكن أعرف أنني أستطيع القيام بها خلال العام ونصف العام الماضيين. أعتقد أن أي شخص يبحث عن فرص تطوعية ويتطلع إلى فعل الخير في مكان ما في العالم يمكنه القدوم إلى هنا ".

سألناها بعض الأسئلة الممتعة أيضًا:

ما هو لونك المفضل؟ 

"لوني المفضل هو الخزامى. كانت زهرة جدي المفضلة هي الخزامى ، والآن في كل مرة أراها أو أراها لون الخزامى ، أفكر فيه! "

ما هو طعامك المفضل؟ 

"هوسي الحالي بالطعام هو المحار النيئ على نصف قشرة. إنها مقبلات صيفية منعشة ".

ما الذي لا يمكنك العيش بدونه؟ 

"أنا لا أستطيع العيش بدون الآيس كريم على الإطلاق!"

هل هناك ذاكرتك المفضلة أو الطالب الذي أحببت العمل معه وتريد مشاركته؟

"أحد الأشياء التي تبرز لي قبل COVID ، أتذكر أول فصلين أو ثلاثة دروس درستها هناك امرأة ، لا أتذكر اسمها لسوء الحظ ، والتي كافحت حقًا مع الأساسيات المطلقة للغة الإنجليزية. كافحت مع الأبجدية. كانت لا تزال تعمل على ذلك بينما كان بقية الفصل أكثر تقدمًا قليلاً ، مثل التحدث أكثر قليلاً ، لذلك انتهى بي الأمر بالجلوس في زاوية الطاولة معها وساعدتها في التهجئة الأساسية والحروف الأبجدية. في ذلك اليوم كنا ندرس الخضار لكنها كانت متخلفة عن الركب. أتذكر إخراج هاتفي وعرضت عليها صور كل خضروات. لقد أبلغتني بنعم أحصل عليها أو لا أفهمها. لقد أحببت حقًا العمل في ذلك اليوم لأن جميع الطلاب الآخرين كانوا متعاونين جدًا مع بعضهم البعض وهذا ما أحببته حقًا في التدريس باستخدام HR2. كان الجميع مجرد مجتمع متماسك للغاية وكان الجميع على استعداد لمساعدة بعضهم البعض. وكان ذلك دافئا للغاية.

لقد كان التدريس في HR3 تجربة رائعة ؛ لقد فتحت لي أبوابًا لم أكن أعرف بوجودها هناك ، مما دفعني إلى متابعة وظيفة والتطوع فيها من خلال Americorps في تعليم الأطفال باللغة الإنجليزية ابتداءً من شهر أغسطس. مرة أخرى ، كان العام الماضي أو نحو ذلك تحويليًا وممتعًا للغاية ، وأود أن أشكرك على هذه الفرصة الرائعة! "

شكرًا لك ، أوليفيا ، سعيد جدًا بوجودك في فريقنا!

مشاركة:

فيسبوك
تويتر
بينترست
لينكدين:

المنشورات المشابهة

قصص اللاجئين

قصة بو

* بو هو اسم مستعار يستخدمه هذا اللاجئ لحماية هويته ، بو من مقاطعة نانجرهار بأفغانستان ، حيث كان يعمل مع قوات التحالف الأمريكية

اقرأ المزيد »

أهلا بك أيها الجار.

الرجاء تحديد لغتك أدناه.

العربية English Français Deutsch 한국어 ဗမာစာ नेपाली پښتو فارسی Español Kiswahili Türkçe اردو

انضم إلينا في تقديم هدية أمل.

احتفل بموسم العطاء هذا من خلال دعم عائلات اللاجئين هنا في هامبتون رودز.

Volunteer Spotlight: Olivia Tran

Olivia Tran is a volunteer for our Women’s ESL Class. She began volunteering in the very beginning of 2020; in person and online. Today Olivia is in the spotlight.

Olivia Tran recently graduated from the College of William & Mary, Class of 2021, with a BS in Neuroscience. She says “The big long term goal is to go to med school; become a doctor. I know teaching and ESL tutoring aren’t necessarily directly related to medicine, but it’s very important to me to be exposed to all different kinds of populations, all different kinds of diverse people. It’s good to exercise an open mind, because you know when you’re a doctor you see all different patients from all different kinds of personal backgrounds, cultures, societies, religions and those things may or may not influence their medical decisions, so it’s a big deal to keep my mind as open as possible.”

“So, I think HR3 has prepared me really well for my upcoming job at the Literacy Lab. I’ve just learned so much about teaching skills and strategies, well a lot of the stuff I’ve learned during my time was specifically for ESL Literacy Lab. It will be a little bit similar where I’ll be doing reading comprehension and writing skills for very young kids.  English is not their second language per se, but it’s kinda similar. Strengthening their English skills is important for entry into the real world.

I don’t think I would’ve seen myself as a good fit for the Literacy Lab if I hadn’t started volunteering with HR3 because like I said earlier I didn’t really have any teaching experience.  Before I didn’t really consider myself to be a great teacher, but I’ve built skills I didn’t know I could do during the last year and a half. I think that anyone who is out there looking for volunteer opportunities and is looking to do good somewhere in the world can come here.”

We asked her some fun questions too:

What is your favorite color? 

“My favorite color is lavender. My grandfather’s favorite flower was the lavender, and now every time I see it or the color lavender, I think of him!”

What is your favorite food? 

“My current food obsession is raw oysters on the half shell. It’s such a refreshing summer appetizer.”

What can’t you live without? 

“I absolutely cannot live without ice cream!”

Is there a favorite memory or student you liked working with you’d like to share?

“One that stands out to me before COVID, I remember the first 2 or 3 classes I tutored there was a woman, whose name I don’t remember unfortunately, who really struggled with the absolute basics of English. She struggled with the alphabet; she was still working on that while the rest of the class was a little more advanced, like a little more conversational, so I ended up just sitting at the corner of the table with her and I helped her with basic spelling and the alphabet. That day we were studying vegetables but she was falling behind. I remember pulling out my phone and showing her images of every vegetable. She communicated to me that yes I get it or no I don’t get it. I also really really liked working that day because all the other students were so helpful to each other and that’s what I really liked about tutoring with HR3. Everyone was just a very close knit community and everyone was very willing to help each other. And that was very heartwarming.

Tutoring at HR3 has been such a great experience; it opened doors for me that I didn’t know were there, leading me to pursue and volunteer a job through Americorps in tutoring kids in English starting this August. Again, the last year or so has been so transformative and fun, and I want to thank you for this wonderful opportunity!”

Thank you, Olivia, so glad to have had you on our team!

Share:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn

Related Posts

Refugee Stories

Bo’s Story

*Bo is an alias used by this refugee to protect his identity Bo is from Afghanistan’s Nangarhār Province, where he worked for U.S. coalition forces

Read More »

Welcome, neighbor.

Please select your language below.

العربية English Français Deutsch 한국어 ဗမာစာ नेपाली پښتو فارسی Español Kiswahili Türkçe اردو

Join Us In Giving The Gift of Hope.

Celebrate this season of giving by supporting refugee families right here in Hampton Roads.